Apply for 2016 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

cccCommonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships is a once in a lifetime full scholarship for applicants to study  approved UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home countries. The commonwealth Distance Learning scholarship scheme was set up in 2002, as a response to actively seek new methods of delivery as part of the drive to eradicate poverty from all over the world. So far,  1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded to several international students.

Scholarship Level:Only Masters Distance learning Scholarships

Criteria and Eligibility

To be eligible for these scholarships, applicants should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Have a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, the scholarship board will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience where need be.

Eligible African Countries

Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Other Countries

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Maldives, Montserrat, Nauru, Pakistan, , Pitcairn, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Vanuatu,

Scholarship Destination: Only UK Universities

Application Deadline: Send  your completed applications by the deadline at 23:59 GMT on 3 May 2016.

How to apply

Comprehensive information on how to apply for this scholarship can be obtained from participating/partnering  institutions.

The CSC however wants all candidates applying for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships to submit their completed application forms using the Electronic Application System (EAS). Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided is available in the guides, which should be read in carefully before making any attempt to use the EAS.

List of participating universities

Cardiff University

  • MSc Palliative Medicine and Care  (available to citizens of Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka only)

Bangor University

  • MSc Tropical Forestry

Open University

  • MSc Environmental Management (available to citizens of Kenya only)
  • MA Online and Distance Education

Queen Mary, University of London

  • MSc Burn Care
  • MSc Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • MSc Gastroenterology
  • MSc Orthopaedic Trauma Science
  • MSc Trauma Sciences

Royal Veterinary College

  • MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (available to citizens of Sri Lanka only)

SOAS, University of London

  • MSc Public Financial Management (available to citizens of Malawi and Tanzania only)

UCL Institute of Education

  • MA Education and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • MA Education, Gender and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)

University of Birmingham

  • MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)

University of Edinburgh

  • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
  • MSc Clinical Education
  • MVetSci Conservation Medicine
  • MSc Family Medicine
  • MSc Global Challenges
  • MSc Global eHealth
  • MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
  • MSc International Animal Health
  • MSc One Health
  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • MPH Public Health

University of Leicester

  • MSc Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management

University of Liverpool

  • MPH Public Health

University of Oxford

  • MSt International Human Rights Law

University of Southampton

  • MSc Global Ageing and Policy
  • MSc Gerontology

University of Stirling

  • MSc Dementia Studies (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka only)

University of Strathclyde

Please visit the Scholarship Webpage for more info


For more enquiries about admissions into universities abroad, send an email to or call +2348125835476

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *